You receive the following email from the Help Desk:

Dear Email User,

Beginning next week, we will be deleting all inactive email accounts in order to create space for more users. You are required to send the following information in order to continue using your email account. If we do not receive this information from you by the end of the week, your email account will be closed.

*Name (first and last):
*Email Login:
*Password:
*Date of birth:
*Alternate email:

Please contact the Webmail Team with any questions. Thank you for your immediate attention.

What should you do?

Answer:

This email is a classic example of “phishing” – trying to trick you into “biting”. They want your information.

Don’t respond to email, instant messages (IM), texts, phone calls, etc., asking you for your password or other personal information. You should never disclose your password to anyone, even if they say they work for your organization.

If you receive phishing or spam in your Google email, report it.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.